How many Teams are in NFL?

There are several teams in the NFL, but what is the exact number? How many teams are there? In this blog article, we will answer these questions and more.

The History of the NFL

The National Football League (NFL) has been around since 1920 and has 32 teams. The NFL was formed by the American Professional Football Association (APFA). At its inception, there were only eight teams. Today, the NFL is one of the most popular sports leagues in the world.

There have been many changes to the NFL throughout its history. In 1922, the league began to play with nine teams. The NFL expanded to 12 teams in 1932 and 14 teams in 1933. The NFL reached 16 units in 1940, but World War II forced the league to reduce its membership to 10 teams for four seasons. The NFL returned to 16 teams in 1946. In 1978, the league increased its team size to 18 members.

The current NFL team size was established in 2002 when the Jacksonville Jaguars joined the league as an expansion team. The 32-team league format was introduced in 1993 and is currently in use. The NFL is divided into the American Football Conference (AFC) and National Football Conference (NFC). Each conference has 16 teams. The two meetings are divided into four divisions – East, West, North, and South – based on geography.

The Evolution of Teams in the NFL

When the National Football League (NFL) was founded in 1920, only eight teams were in the league. It wasn’t until 1926 that another group was added to the league, and it wasn’t until 1932 that the NFL reached its current size of 32 teams.

Since then, franchises have been added and dropped from the NFL for various reasons. The most notable example is the Baltimore Ravens franchise which was created in 1996 as an expansion team and then relocated to Baltimore in 2001. Since then, three other expansion teams (the Jacksonville Jaguars, Carolina Panthers, and Tennessee Titans) have joined the league.

Meanwhile, several franchises have left the NFL for various reasons. The Cleveland Browns franchise moved to Baltimore in 1996 and Cincinnati in 1999 before returning to Cleveland in 2002. The Tampa Bay Buccaneers franchise moved from San Francisco to Tampa Bay in 1977 but then relocated to St. Petersburg, Florida, in 2002. The Oakland Raiders franchise moved from Los Angeles to Oakland in 1982 but then relocated to Las Vegas in 1995.

How Many Teams are in the NFL Today?

The National Football League (NFL) is the highest level of professional American football. It consists of 32 teams, divided equally between the National Football Conference (NFC) and the American Football Conference (AFC). The NFL was founded in 1920 as an amateur league, but professional football was introduced in 1932.

Today, there are currently 32 teams in the NFL. The Los Angeles Rams, who relocated from St. Louis in 2016, became the 33rd team in the league.

More Facts about teams in the NFL

There are 32 teams in the National Football League. The league has been around since 1920 and is now one of the most popular sports in America.

Each team is made up of at least 11 players, who are divided into two teams. The offense and defense each have 11 players. Three special team players play only during the extra point and field goal periods.

The NFL has a regular season that lasts from September to December. During this time, each team plays 16 games. At the end of the regular season, the top team in each division (AFC and NFC) goes to the playoffs. In the playoffs, each divisional round is a best-of-three series. The two winners of each divisional round play in the conference championships, which are also a best-of-three series. The conference champions then play in the Super Bowl, a best-of-seven series.

There are currently 32 teams in the NFL. However, there have been 25 teams since 1946. The Houston Oilers was added in 1997, and the Jacksonville Jaguars were added in 1995.

Is there a playoff system in the NFL?

There is no set playoff system in the NFL – teams are determined by their record at the end of the season. The top four teams in each conference make the playoffs, with two wild card teams qualifying. The first round of the playoffs is a home-and-away series, and the eventual champion is awarded the Super Bowl trophy.


In the NFL, there are currently 32 teams. This means that if you want to bet on any given team, you will need to be able to place bets on all 32 of them. If you’re looking for a more in-depth look at the odds for each team, I recommend checking out our guide on how to bet on NCAA football and NFL betting tips.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *